Murdo Girl…The RV trip..dog blog..Colorado and Wyoming

One really important tip I can give you about successful RV traveling is you have to learn to take every situation and think about the appropriate action or reaction. You can’t get away with much. For instance…the cockers got to the recliners this morning before I did. That was bad enough, but the cat chased one of them off and got a recliner all to herself. The cockers were now both in MG’s recliner. I can’t chase the cat off because I’m afraid of her.

I’m bummed. I really don’t like this little couch…I almost asked Kip and MG if they would chase Dollie off Kip’s recliner so I could sleep in it, but I noticed Kip was sitting on the floor, so I used the appropriate action. I asked MG if she would chase the cockers off of her chair. She said, “No…I guess you’ll have to be alert and wait for your chance.”

We left Pueblo yesterday and drove to Loveland, Colorado, where we met Kip’s sister, Karlyce, and her husband, Dave, at my favorite restaurant…Cracker Barrel. MG loves their chicken and dumplings, but sometimes she gets an open faced beef sandwich because she knows how well I like beef. It was not to be. MG said it was so good, she forgot and ate it all.

wp-image-1103434091jpg.jpg

Kip with Karlyce and Dave. I see Karlyce didn’t forget the leftovers. Charlie is one lucky dog.

Next, we drove the 120 miles to Laramie where Kip’s 55th high school reunion will be held. The road was one long incline. Laramie is at 7200 ft above sea level. Here are some pictures MG took as we slowly climbed up and up. I was worried I wouldn’t have enough oxygen in Laramie. Dogs need a lot of oxygen to pant.

After lunch, Karlyce and Dave drove up to their cabin in Red Feather, which is off the same highway as Laramie. We actually saw piles of hail along the side of the road. Good thing we didn’t leave earlier.

MG called Karlyce to make sure they missed the hail. By that time the temperature had dropped to 40 degrees. Karlyce asked if we had a fireplace in our bus. MG told her no, but there is a universal burn ban on RV’s anyway…no firewood allowed.

It did get cold during the night, but this morning was beautiful. We get to go on lots of long walks everywhere we travel.

Sammie and Pattie stopped to sniff out a rabbit…I missed the scent. I’m craving beef and I know MG is having a big juicy steak for dinner/supper.

Well, the reunion starts tonight, so I will let you know what I hear about how it went. Sometimes I over eavesdrop.

(Pictures of Laramie and lots of stories tomorrow.)

Camping at the Journey KOA in Laramie.

 

8 thoughts on “Murdo Girl…The RV trip..dog blog..Colorado and Wyoming

  1. sanjuan831 August 11, 2017 / 6:25 pm

    I am excited just thinking about a HS reunion, even if it’s not mine. Have a blast!
    Is Princess Clueless keeping notes on the top ten questions people ask MG as you are walking the dogs? Chief Sits-a-lot really wants that info but I don’t know why.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mary Francis McNinch August 11, 2017 / 6:39 pm

      Tell Prince sits-a-lot we remembered. Does he just want questions relating to the pets or any questions? Most of them so far have been poop related.💩

      Liked by 2 people

      • sanjuan831 August 11, 2017 / 10:41 pm

        He said Any questions. He wants to get a feel for what it’s like to be camped down the street and meet your neighbors. Thanks!

        Like

  2. lifelessons August 11, 2017 / 11:57 pm

    I know right where that KOA campground is. One summer when I was in college, two friends and I rented a mobile home in a park right next to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mary Francis McNinch August 12, 2017 / 8:04 am

      A couple of Kip’s friends rented here too, but that was probably before your time. Their names are Molly and Cary Cline.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lifelessons August 12, 2017 / 10:06 am

        It was just for summer school. I had actually totally forgotten it. Your mention of KOA jogged my memory.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Rachel Manlove Vogel August 12, 2017 / 9:30 am

    I love traveling in Wyoming. We went to Devils Tower last year on our way home from visiting family in Iowa. I was born in Torrington, we moved to Murdo when I was 3. A lot of the little towns in the midwest have campgrounds and many are free. We have a cheap and free campground book we use.

    Like

    • Mary Francis McNinch August 12, 2017 / 2:05 pm

      That sounds adventuresome. Is that the name of the book? I would like to get one. We are going to SD on this trip too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

